About Me

Hi All!

Welcome to Smile & Conquer, my little section of the internet where I talk about money stuff and sometimes ramble about life stuff. I’m 31 years old and have lived in the Edmonton area for my whole life, minus one short stint in Southern Ontario. I live with my boyfriend of twelve years and our two dogs and two cats. Before you ask, yes, it feels weird calling him my boyfriend after having been together for so long and yes, we get asked when we’re getting married ALL the time. Eventually, it will happen but at this point, we’re in no hurry and would rather spend our money on just about anything but a wedding.

I went to the University of Alberta straight out of high school and did a Bachelor of Arts degree in History and Sociology and now I work in finance…wait, what? I really had no idea what I wanted to do as a career and going to University felt like the right option at the time. Now don’t get me wrong, I learned a lot in school and even though my degree hasn’t directly helped my career path it did give me skills I use all the time, like better writing and communication skills. I loved my time at University and would do it all over again if I could (again, the money).

After graduating University I took an admin job in finance and have worked my way up through the ranks and it looks like I’ll continue on this path. I enjoy my job and helping people plan for their futures.

Outside of work I love all things fashion and beauty. I also enjoy food, although I do practically no cooking…my bf is the cook in our household, I just tell him what to make 😉 I also enjoy movies, TV, and books as well as checking out all the great events Edmonton has to offer; we’re not known as ‘Festival City’ for no reason!

I hope you guys enjoy the blog and feel free to contact me if you have any questions.

“The secret to getting ahead is getting started.” -Mark Twain